Scholar Awards

SCNV recognizes those skaters who are training and competing for the club while maintaining excellence in their scholastic endeavors through the Scholar Award Program. The club will recognize those skaters earning a 3.5 or above grade point average in their coursework. Awards are presented in the Fall. Please check back for the application for the 2020 – 2021 academic year.

To be eligible for the award, the skater must:

  1. Be enrolled in an accredited middle school, high school, or college/university (7th grade or above).
  2. Be a member of SCNV and be in good standing with the club.
  3. Maintain a 3.5 or above average for the full school year prior to the one in which the award is presented. (However, you will not be penalized for any grading period impacted by COVID (i.e. March 13, 2020 forward). Please provide explanation in your application.)
  4. Submit an unofficial school transcript with your GPA either reported on your transcript or self-reported. If self-reporting, please also include details of your GPA computation. Only digital transcript or report card files from your school are accepted; NO selfies/digital snapshots of grading summaries or student coursework history/dashboards will be accepted.
  5. Represent SCNV and participate in at least one test session or competition during the skating season corresponding to the award period: July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021. Virginia Ice Theatre and National Blades members are eligible if you meet all the requirements.

A list of awardees will be compiled for the Club’s archives and a letter of congratulations can be sent to the recipient’s school.

2019-2020 – Scholar Award Recipients

Lexi Adelstein Uma Antsilevich Indigo Brookes-Weiss Eleanor Choe
Elizabeth Chuang Michelle Chuang Emily Marie Conant Sydney Dondes
Mai Friedman Katherine Emma Hill Meghan Abigail Hill Vivian Jung
Kaitlyn (Katie) Kim Kate Konzelman Jon Maravilla Juan Carlos Maravilla
Kaitlin Molloy Samantha Park Christina M. Romonoski-Dao Carina Salsberry
Maya Singh Matthew P. Sperry Calla Anna Spignardo Darya Streke
Anna Weiss Amelia Weston Alexandra Wu Elizabeth A. Wung

2018-2019 Scholar Award Recipients

2017-2018 Scholar Award Recipients